当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会赚取佣金。 附属机构披露。

随着电动滑板车立法看起来越来越有可能(在英国),它们的受欢迎程度只会增加。 在这份全面的电动滑板车购买者指南中,我将解释要寻找的内容(以及要避免的内容)。 另外,我将解码一些行话,并更详细地介绍电机功率和电池范围等内容。

电动滑板车购买指南

电动滑板车有什么好处?

如果您正在寻找一种廉价而有趣的方式来快速游览城镇,但又不想使用自己的能量(步行或骑自行车),那么电动滑板车是完美的解决方案。 但是电动滑板车有什么好处,值得购买吗?

  • 便宜买: 大约 500 英镑 / 500 欧元,你就可以买到一辆相当不错的电动滑板车——它的电池续航里程足够 20-30 公里,并且应该有足够的动力轻松地将成年人运送穿过城镇而不会大惊小怪。
  • 口袋容易: 当您将电动滑板车的充电成本与 2022年开一辆车的成本,那么就无所谓了! 此外,电动滑板车将比使用公共交通工具便宜。
  • 可带入: 大多数电动滑板车都可以轻松折叠并放入内部,而不会占用太多空间。
  • 击败交通: 在大城镇或城市驾车进行一次小旅行可能需要很长时间。 使用电动滑板车,您可以轻松过滤任何交通堵塞。
  • 乐趣: 任何曾经骑过电动滑板车的人都会告诉你,骑电动滑板车非常有趣——这肯定比被困在汽车里或挤在公共汽车上要好!
电动滑板车购买指南

普通电动滑板车常见问题解答

下面,我尝试回答一些有关电动滑板车的常见常见问题解答。 如果您是电动滑板车世界的新手,了解所有技术特性可能会让人不知所措。 归根结底,即使是更便宜的电动滑板车也可能要花不少钱,您需要确保自己购买的是适合自己需求的产品。

这个问题的答案取决于你住在哪里。 在美国和大多数欧洲国家/地区,允许使用电动滑板车,前提是滑板车符合特定标准(速度/功率限制)。 在英国,情况有所不同,目前,道路交通法不允许使用电动滑板车。

电动滑板车合法吗

随着政府最近宣布(2022 年 XNUMX 月)计划出台涵盖电动滑板车等个人电动车辆使用的立法,情况有望很快发生变化。 一旦有任何进一步的发展,我会尽快更新这篇文章。

与此同时,如果你在英国并使用电动滑板车,似乎有点像“邮政编码彩票”——一些地区似乎对电动滑板车的使用采取了自由的态度(只要负责任地使用),而其他地区则有不容忍使用电动滑板车。 做你的研究,如果你决定在法律允许之前使用它,请负责任地骑行并始终戴头盔。

电动滑板车如何工作?

电动滑板车有两个主要部件——电机和电池。 续航里程(一次充电行驶的时间/距离)由电机产生的功率和电池的能量容量决定。 下面我解释一下功率输出和电池容量。

电机

大多数电动滑板车在前轮或后轮使用无刷电机。 功率输出以瓦特 (w) 为单位 – 750w 等于一马力。 目前市售的大多数电动滑板车的功率都在 250w – 1000w 之间。

踏板车电机

功率输出由电压 (v) 和电流 (A) 决定。 带有 36A 控制器的 15v 电机将产生 540W 峰值功率 (36v x 15A)。

功率输出将决定加速度和最高速度等因素,但这会受到车手体重的很大影响。 与骑手必须增加自己的踩踏力来帮助电机的电动自行车不同,电动踏板车电机不会有任何额外的帮助。 这意味着 100 公斤的骑手骑着 250 瓦的滑板车,除了平坦的地面(没有山丘或斜坡),不会在任何地方行驶。 另一方面,一个 60 公斤的骑手使用 250 瓦的电机就可以了。

电动滑板车指南

我的体重刚好超过 100 公斤,我已经测试了几辆 350w 的电动滑板车,它们通常在最轻微的斜坡上都会慢到蜗牛的速度。 我十几岁的女儿可以毫不费力地骑着同样的电动滑板车爬上 8% 的坡度。 适合较重骑手的最佳电动滑板车应具有至少 500 瓦的连续功率输出。 显然,当法律出台时,这可能是最高时速 15 英里的功率上限。

电池

系统电压通常为 36v 或 48v。 一些高性能电动滑板车的电压会高达 72v,但我们将专注于两个最常用的电压。

几乎所有现代电动滑板车都使用锂离子(锂离子)电池——这些通常是 18650细胞 串联排列以产生所需的电压和能量容量。

电动滑板车电池

早期使用的是密封铅酸电池,然后是镍镉(镍镉)电池。 锂离子电池比旧电池更轻,可以储存更多能量,而且使用寿命更长。

大多数优质制造商将使用 LG、三星和松下等家喻户晓的优质品牌电池。 许多更便宜的电动滑板车品牌倾向于使用无品牌电池。 如果您购买使用无品牌电池的更便宜的电动滑板车,您可能无法从电池获得相同的使用寿命(与知名电池品牌相比)。

电池容量以瓦特小时 (Wh) 为单位测量,该数字是通过将电压乘以安培小时 (Ah) 计算得出的。 例如,一个 36v 12.5Ah 电池的总能量容量为 450Wh——连续消耗 450 瓦的电机将在一小时内将电池放电。

携带电动滑板车

由于要考虑的变量太多,因此很难确定电池续航里程。 最大的变量将是车手的体重、地形(平坦或丘陵)和电机功率输出。 其他变量将包括气温、风向/强度、轮胎压力等。

由于电动踏板车仅依靠电动机进行推进,因此典型的踏板车电池将比等效的电动自行车电池消耗得更快。

哪个最好 - 前置或后置电机?

您会注意到一些电动滑板车有前置电机,而其他电动滑板车有后置电机(一些高性能电动滑板车的两个轮子上都有一个电机)。 下面,我将探讨每种方法的优缺点。

前电机优点:

  • 更好的牵引力——更适合光滑的表面
  • 不太容易过度转向
  • 重量更轻

前电机缺点:

  • 车轮打滑 – 前置电机可能会在潮湿条件下打滑,因为骑手的大部分重量都集中在踏板车的中部和后部。
  • 容易转向不足
  • 很难以更高的速度转弯
电动滑板车买家指南

后置电机优点:

  • 更强大 - 后电机往往比前电机更强大,使其更适合加速和爬山。
  • 更好的转弯圈——后置电机可以使滑板车更加灵活。

后电机缺点:

  • 容易转向过度——后置电机会使电动滑板车容易转向过度,尤其是在冰冷或潮湿的条件下。

电动滑板车有什么样的刹车?

大多数电动滑板车都结合了机械盘式制动器和电子制动系统。 电子制动器通过电机工作,无论是前轮还是后轮。 非驱动轮通常具有机械或在某些情况下液压盘式制动器。

电子制动器通过对电机旋转产生阻力来工作——这有助于使电动滑板车缓慢且受控地停止。 一些踏板车将具有再生制动系统,可将部分制动能量返回到电池中。

电动滑板车刹车

您肯定希望至少在一个车轮上安装盘式制动器,但如果可能的话我会推荐双盘式制动器。 电子制动确实有助于减慢滑板车的速度,但我不想在紧急情况下依赖它。 就再生制动而言,回收的能量非常小,不会对续航里程产生太大影响。

是否值得在电动踏板车上进行再生制动?

正如我在上面解释的那样,电动滑板车上的那种再生制动系统会将如此少量的能量放回电池中,普通骑手不会注意到这一点。 当您松开油门时,一些电动滑板车的再生系统也会回馈少量能量,但同样能量很小,不会真正引起注意。

电动滑板车再生制动

我个人认为这是一种营销策略。 这听起来很酷,也许在未来,这项技术会得到改进,从而对电池续航里程产生显着影响。 但是,就目前而言,我不会根据电动滑板车是否具有此功能来做出决定。

什么样的显示器最好?

电动滑板车通常有 LCD 或 LED 显示屏。 其主要功能是为骑手提供有关速度、电池续航里程、温度和行驶距离的信息。 大多数电动滑板车将具有多种动力或速度模式——这使骑手能够更加节俭地消耗能源并延长电池续航时间。

navee n65 显示器

大多数基本的电动滑板车显示器都是通过靠近左侧或右侧车把把手的小键盘控制的。 许多电动滑板车还允许骑手将智能手机应用程序与滑板车配对以增强数据(如 GPS 导航或电机和电池健康数据)。

拇指油门好还是扭油门好?

这通常是拇指油门或传统的旋转油门。 它们几乎总是位于车把的右侧。

酷狗s4显示器

至于哪个更好,我认为这是个人喜好的问题。 我个人更喜欢拇指油门,但我认识很多喜欢扭油门的车手。 我不觉得一个一定比另一个更好。

电动滑板车一般都有哪些配件?

大多数电动滑板车都有一个小支架、挡泥板和灯。 即使是经济型电动滑板车也会有后刹车灯。 将来法律也可能要求使用指标。

电动滑板车最好的轮胎是什么?

一些电动滑板车有坚固的“蜂窝”轮胎——这些轮胎的主要好处是没有刺破的风险,但它们不能很好地吸收道路缺陷,也不能提供最舒适的乘坐体验。 带内胎的传统充气轮胎更为常见——这些轮胎通常有一点防刺穿保护,但我建议可能用密封剂填充内胎或携带一些工具和备用内胎以防万一。

最好的电动滑板车轮胎

电动滑板车防水吗?

大多数高质量的电动滑板车肯定会防风雨,但防水和防水之间有很大的区别。

如果您生活在一个多雨的国家,那么您将不可避免地要穿过积水。 大多数体面的电动滑板车应该能够在水坑和雨中骑行,但请务必先咨询制造商。 经济型电动滑板车通常会有免责声明,声明“请勿弄湿”。 一些更昂贵的品牌将保证一定程度的防水。

如果您不知道这一点,无论哪种方式,我都会谨慎行事,并尽可能避免弄湿。

骑电动滑板车时我应该戴头盔吗?

是的,您应该始终佩戴合适的头部保护装置。 您只需要慢速翻滚就可以住院,并且应该采取任何措施来降低严重的、改变生命的伤害的风险。 确保您获得了经过严格安全测试的自行车头盔之类的东西。

通勤电动滑板车

电动滑板车比电动自行车好吗?

不,它们是不同的交通方式,各有利弊。 两者都使用电动机和锂电池,但相似之处仅此而已。 电动自行车更大、更重,需要用力蹬。 而电动滑板车仅由电机驱动。 电动自行车通常要贵得多,但您可以花不到 500 英镑购买实用的电动滑板车。 电池没电时仍可使用电动自行车,但使用电动滑板车时,您需要推着或背着它回家。 有关我的想法的更多信息,请查看我的 电动自行车与电动滑板车 的文章。

电动滑板车与电动自行车

结论

我希望您发现这本电动滑板车购买者指南很有用,并且它已经回答了您关于这种出色的个人交通工具的一些问题。

电动滑板车肯定会留在这里,它们将在将人们从 A 地运送到 B 地方面发挥重要作用,尤其是在城市环境中。 我想在某些领域,它们会变得像自行车和电动自行车一样受欢迎。

电动滑板车买家指南

一旦英国的法律发生变化,我将在此处发布更新。 但是,目前,如果您在英国,请仅在电动滑板车友好的地区骑行,并始终在考虑他人的情况下安全骑行。

我有一些单独的购买指南,其中包含 通勤的最佳电动滑板车300 英镑以下的最佳电动滑板车. 我将在不久的将来发表更多与电动滑板车相关的文章。

在我的其他网站上,我编制了一个 超过 100 辆电动滑板车的清单 目前在英国和欧盟有售。

延伸阅读

类似的帖子

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

Electric Scooter Buyer’s Guide for Beginners

ebikechoices is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more

With e-scooter legislation looking more and more likely (in the UK), their popularity is only going to increase. In this electric scooter buyer’s guide, I’ll explain what to look for (and what to avoid). Plus, I will decode some of the jargon and go into a bit more detail on things like motor power and battery range.

e-scooter buyer's guide

What are the benefits of an electric scooter?

If you’re looking for a cheap and fun way to get around town quickly, but don’t want to use your own energy (walk or ride a bike), then e-scooters are the perfect solution. But what are the benefits of an electric scooter and is it worth buying one?

  • Cheap to buy: For around £500 / €500 you can buy a pretty good electric scooter – it will have enough battery range for 20-30km and should have enough power to effortlessly transport an adult across town without fuss.
  • Easy on the pocket: When you compare the cost of charging an electric scooter with the cost of running a car in 2022, then it’s a no-brainer! Also, an e-scooter will be cheaper than using public transport.
  • Can be taken inside: Most electric scooters can be easily folded down and taken inside without taking up too much space.
  • Beat the traffic: Making a small journey by car in a large town or city can take a long time. With an e-scooter you can easily filter through any traffic hold-ups.
  • Fun: Anyone who’s ever ridden an electric scooter will tell you they’re great fun to ride – it certainly beats being stuck in a car or crammed on to a bus!

electric scooters are fun

Common Electric Scooter FAQ’s

Below, I’ve tried to answer a few of the more common FAQ’s when it comes to e-scooters. If you’re new to the world of electric scooters, it can be a bit overwhelming learning about all the technical features. At the end of the day, even cheaper e-scooters can cost a fair bit and you want to be sure you’re making the right purchase for your needs.

Are electric scooters legal?

The answer to this question depends on where you live. In the US and most European countries, e-scooter use is allowed providing the scooter meets certain criteria (speed / power limits). In the UK, things are somewhat different and currently e-scooter use is not allowed under the road traffic act.

are electric scooters legal

Things will hopefully changing very soon as the Government recently announced (May 2022) plans to introduce legislation covering the use of personal electric vehicles like e-scooters. I will update this article as soon as there are any further developments.

In the meantime, if you are in the UK and use an electric scooter, it seems there’s a bit of a ‘postcode lottery’ – some areas seem to have a liberal approach to their use (as long as used responsibly) and other areas do not tolerate e-scooter use. Do your research and if you decide to use one before the law allows, ride responsibly and always wear a helmet.

How does an electric scooter work?

There are two main components to an electric scooter – the motor and battery. The range (time / distance travelled on a single charge) is determined by the amount of power the motor produces and the energy capacity of the battery. Below I explain power output and battery capacity.

Motor

Most electric scooter use a brushless motor either in the front or rear wheel. Power output is measured in watts (w) – 750w is equals one horsepower. Most of the e-scooter currently available produce in the region of 250w – 1000w.

electric scooter motor

The power output is determined by the voltage (v) and current (A). A 36v motor with a 15A controller will produce 540W peak power (36v x 15A).

Power output will determine things like acceleration and top speed, but this will be greatly effected by rider weight. Unlike e-bikes where the rider has to add their own pedalling power to help the motor, an e-scooter motor won’t have any additional help. This means a 100kg rider on a 250w scooter, won’t be travelling on anything but flat ground (no hills or inclines). On the other hand a 60kg rider will be just fine with a 250w motor.

e-scooter guide

I weigh just over 100kg and I’ve tested several 350w e-scooter and they usually slow to a snails pace on even the slightest incline. My teenage daughter can ride the same e-scooter effortlessly up an 8% gradient. If you’re on the heavier side, then I would suggest a scooter with a power output of at least 500w continuous. Obviously when the law comes out, this may be the upper power limit with a 15mph max speed.

Battery

The system voltage will usually be either 36v or 48v. Some high performance e-scooters will go as high as 72v, but we will concentrate on the two most commonly used voltages.

Nearly all modern e-scooters use Li-ion (Lithium-Ion) batteries – these are typically 18650 cells arranged in series to generate the required voltage and energy capacity.

electric scooter battery

Back in the early days sealed lead acid batteries were used and then NiCad (Nickel Cadmium) batteries. Li-ion batteries are lighter and can store more energy than older batteries, they also have greater longevity.

Most quality manufacturers will use high-quality branded cells from household names like LG, Samsung and Panasonic. A lot of the cheaper e-scooter brands tend to use unbranded cells. If you buy a cheaper electric scooter that uses unbranded cells, you may not get the same life-span from the battery (compared with a well known battery brand).

Battery capacity is measured in watt hours (Wh) this figured is calculated by multiplying the Voltage by the Amp Hours (Ah). For example a 36v 12.5Ah battery will have a total energy capacity of  450Wh – a motor drawing 450 watts continuously will discharge the battery in one hour.

carrying an e-scooter

It’s very difficult to determine battery range as there are so many variables to consider. The biggest variables will be rider weight, terrain (flat or hilly) and motor power output. Other variables will include air temperature, wind direction / strength, tyre pressures etc.

Because an e-scooter relies solely on the motor for propulsion, a typical scooter battery will deplete far quicker than an equivalent e-bike battery.

Which is best – front or rear motor?

You will notice that some e-scooters have front  motors and others have rear motors (some high performance e-scooters have a motor on both wheels). Below, I’ll go in to the pros and cons of each.

Front motor pros:

  • Better traction – more suited to slippery surfaces
  • Less prone to oversteer
  • Lighter in weight

Front motor cons:

  • Wheels spin – front motors may spin in wet conditions as a lot of the rider’s weight is concentrated at the middle to rear of the scooter.
  • Prone to understeer
  • Difficult to turn at higher speeds

electric scooter buyers guide

Rear motor pros:

  • More powerful – rear motors tend to be more powerful than front motors, making them better for accelerating and climbing hills.
  • Better turning circle – rear motors can will make the scooter more nimble.

Rear motor cons:

  • Prone to oversteer – rear motors can make the e-scooter prone to oversteer, especially in icy or wet conditions.

What kind of brakes does an electric scooter have?

Most e-scooters have a combination of mechanical disc brakes and electronic braking systems. The electronic brake works through the motor whether on the front or rear wheel. The non-drive wheel will usually have a mechanical or in some cases hydraulic disc brake.

The electronic brake works by creating resistance to motor rotation – this helps bring the e-scooter to a slow and controlled stop. Some scooters will have a regenerative braking system which puts some of the braking energy back into the battery.

electric scooter brake

You definitely want a disc brake on at least on of the wheels, but I would recommend dual disc brakes if possible. Electronic braking does help with slowing scooter down but I wouldn’t want to rely on it in an emergency situation. And as far as regenerative braking is concerned, the amount of energy recovered is going to be so small, it’s not going to make much of a difference to range.

Is it worth having regenerative braking on an electric scooter?

As I’ve explained above, the kind or regenerative braking systems found on e-scooters are going to be putting such a small amount of energy back in the battery, it’s not going to be noticeable to the average rider. Some electric scooter regenerative systems also put a small amount of energy back when you lift off the throttle, but again this is going to be so small it’s not going to be really noticeable.

e-scooter regenerative braking

My personal take on this is it’s a bit of a marketing ploy. It sounds cool and maybe in future, the technology will be refined so it makes a noticeable difference to battery range. But, for now I wouldn’t base my decision on whether an e-scooter has this function or not.

What kind of display is best?

Electric scooters will usually have an LCD or LED display. The main function of this is to provide the rider with information regarding speed, battery range, temperature and distance travelled. Most e-scooters will have several power or speed modes – this enables the rider to be more frugal with their energy consumption and prolong the battery range.

navee n65 display

Most basic e-scooter displays are controlled with a small keypad near the left or right handlebar grip. A lot of e-scooters also allow the rider to pair a smartphone app with the scooter for enhanced data (like GPS navigation or motor and battery health data).

Is a thumb or twist throttle better?

This is usually either a thumb throttle or a traditional twist throttle. These are nearly always located on the right hand side of the handlebar.

kugoo s4 display

With regards to which is better, I think it’s a matter of personal preference. I personally prefer a thumb throttle, but I know a lot of riders who like twist throttles. I don’t feel that one is necessarily better than the other.

What accessories do electric scooters usually have?

Most electric scooters have a small kickstand, mudguards and lights. Even budget e-scooters will have a rear brake light. It’s likely that in future indicators may also be required by law.

What are the best tyres for an electric scooter?

Some electric scooters have solid ‘honeycomb’ tyres – the main benefit of these is there is no risk of puncture, but they do not absorb road imperfections very well and don’t provide the most comfortable of rides. Traditional pneumatic tyres with inner tubes are far more common – these tyres usually have a bit of puncture protection, but I would advise maybe filling the tubes with a sealant or carry some tools and a spare inner tube just in case.

best e-scooter tyres

Are electric scooters waterproof?

Most high quality electric scooters are definitely going to be weatherproof, but there’s a big difference between being water resistant and waterproof.

If you live in a country that gets a lot of rain, then it’s inevitable you’ll be riding through standing water. Most decent e-scooters should be capable of being ridden through puddles and in rain, but always check with the manufacturer first. Budget e-scooters will often have a disclaimer stating ‘do not get wet’. Some more expensive  brands will guarantee a degree of water protection.

If you don’t know this either way, I would err on the side of caution and avoid the wet if possible.

Should I wear a helmet when riding an electric scooter?

Yes, you should always wear suitable head protection. You only have to take a slow speed tumble to end up in hospital and anything to can do to mitigate the risk of serious, life-changing injuries should be done. Make sure you get something like a cycling helmet that’s been rigorously tested for safety.

commuter e-scooter

Are electric scooters better than e-bikes?

No, they are different forms of transport, with their own pros and cons. Both use electric motors and lithium batteries, but that’s where the similarities end. Electric bikes are bigger, heavier and need to be physically pedalled. Whereas, an e-scooter is propelled solely by the motor. E-Bikes are generally much more expensive, but you can buy a practical e-scooter for under £500. E-Bikes can still be used when the battery is flat, but with e-scooters you’ll be pushing or carrying it home.

electric scooters vs electric bikes

Conclusion

I hope you’ve found this electric scooter buyer’s guide useful and it’s answered some of your questions regarding this great form of personal transport.

Electric scooters are definitely here to stay and they are going to play a big part in transporting people from A to B, particularly in urban environments. I would imagine in some areas, they’ll become as popular as bikes and e-bikes.

electric scooter buyers guide

As soon as the law gets changed in the UK, I’ll post an update here. But, for the time being, if you are in the UK, only ride in areas that are e-scooter friendly and always ride safely with consideration for others.

I have a few separate buying guides featuring the best electric scooters for commuting and the best electric scooters under £300. I’ll be publishing more e-scooter related articles in the near future.

On my sister website, I’ve compiled a list of over 100 electric scooters currently available in the UK and EU.

Tony

Passionate E-Bike advocate and enthusiast since 2016. Riding an electric bike helped me to lose weight, get fit and reignite my passion for cycling!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.